The Commission


The Stormont House Agreement provided that a Commission on Flags, Identity, Culture and Tradition would be appointed and would comprise 15 members. Seven would be appointed by the leaders of the five largest political parties with the remaining eight to be drawn from outside of Government. This was reaffirmed in ‘A Fresh Start’.  Details of the membership were formally announced by the First Minister and deputy First Minister on 20 June 2016.

Joint Chairs

  • Mr Neville John Armstrong
  • Dr Dominic Paul Bryan

Commission Members

  • Mr Doug Beattie MC MLA
  • Mr Ian Crozier
  • Mr Richard Good
  • Mr Tom Hartley
  • Prof Thomas William Hennessey
  • Dr David Thomas Hume MBE
  • Mr Donncha Mac Niallais
  • Mr Nelson McCausland
  • Mr Ian McCrea
  • Dr Katy Radford MBE
  • Mr David Robinson 
  • Mr Mukesh Sharma MBE DL
  • Mr Carl Whyte